Sarbanes, Maryland Congressional Delegation Sends Letter Urging SBA to Approve Disaster Declaration for Maryland Counties Affected by Hurricane Ida

October 18, 2021
CONTACT: Natalie Young | |
(202) 225-4016  

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congressman John Sarbanes joined Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen, along with Congressmen Steny H. Hoyer, Dutch Ruppersberger, Kweisi Mfume, Andy Harris, M.D., Anthony G. Brown, Jamie B. Raskin and David Trone (all D-Md.) today in writing to U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Administrator Isabella Casillas Guzman urging the agency to approve the State of Maryland’s request for a physical disaster declaration due to damage from Tropical Depression Ida.

From August 31 to September 4 of this year, the storm caused tornadoes and flash flooding in several counties in the state. The Preliminary Damage Assessments (PDAs) conducted by SBA and the Maryland Department of Emergency Management (MDEM) confirm that nearly 200 homes and businesses across the state were damaged during the storm, with Montgomery County, Anne Arundel County, Cecil County and the City of Annapolis bearing the brunt of the storm. The damage exceeds SBA’s minimum threshold for a disaster declaration. If granted, SBA’s declaration will qualify eligible homes and businesses for SBA disaster assistance programs.

The Maryland lawmakers also encouraged SBA to grant the disaster declaration to all contiguous counties, including Baltimore, Calvert, Howard, Hartford, Kent, Prince George’s and Baltimore City.

The state’s September 27 request for a Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for Individual Assistance following the storm was denied by the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

The full letter follows and can be downloaded here.